The Secret is Out! – My No Longer a Secret Tailgate Dip

1

November 4, 2011 by MarkHanrahan20

It never fails, almost any time my friends and I get together for a tailgate or potluck, someone will ask if I am going to bring “the dip” also known as “superdip” or “that kickass dip” and most of the time, I comply… “The Dip” really isn’t that secret, in fact I am pretty sure my mom found it on the back of a can of Ro-Tel, but so far very few people have gotten the secret from me… It’s really a very easy recipe, with as few as two ingredients, but I also like to mix it up a bit.  So here it is, the recipe for one of the best tailgate dips I have ever had and my friends always beg for.

2 Cans of Rotel (Two hot for hot – one hot, one original for mild with a kick – Two original if you are w wimp)

2 Blocks of cream cheese (you can try reduced fat, but it will be a little runny)

Optional Ingredients

Shredded Cheese

One large tomato

Bell Peppers (colors to match your favorite team)

Green onions

Soften the cream cheese and mix it with the two cans of Ro-Tel, some may like to strain a little of the liquid out of the cans, but it’s really your choice.   You can also use a hand mixer if you really want a smoother consistency, but I like a few lumps…

After you have mixed it all up to the desired consistency, pour it into your serving pan (an 8×14 pan works great) and refrigerate it and let the dip set.  While you are refrigerating the dip, you can work on your garnishments.  Being an Iowa State fan, go Cyclones!  I like to use tomatoes, red peppers, and yellow peppers.  

 When the dip has set, top with the shredded cheese.

Then garnish with the peppers and tomatoes.  Today, I mixed the Red Peppers with the Tomatoes, and used them to surround a yellow “I” with the yellow peppers…

 

 

One thought on “The Secret is Out! – My No Longer a Secret Tailgate Dip

  1. Abby says:

    I didn’t know you had a blog, Marky Mark! Thanks for the secret recipe…gonna steal it very soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,764 other followers

