Introducing… Tuesday Brewsday!

2

January 11, 2011 by MarkHanrahan20

So, I wanted to start something new and really hoping to carry this through the year.  Not only will it challenge me to write weekly (at a minimum) but it will also encourage me to branch out and try some new beers and research what makes them so great, or not so great. We’re going to call this, Tuesday Brewsday!  Each Tuesday I will write up a brief review of a beer.  I aim to start with local/regional beers, and then branch out from there as I run out.  Make sure to set your calendar app.

The inaugural Tuesday Brewsday selection is the Pearl Street Pale Ale from the Pearl Street Brewery in LaCrosse, WI.  Like any good pale ale you can really taste a strong hoppiness to this beer and the Pearl Street website points out that this particular Ale uses a combination of four separate varieties of British hops.  The company’s website points out the flowery and citrus flavors, I thought the beer came off a little more woody and dry, which I actually prefer.  This beer would go great with any spicy Thai or Indian food, maybe even some Mexican if you want to go that route.  For a relatively local beer, which I hadn’t previously heard of I was pretty impressed, but not blown away.  I was a little surprised to see that this beer won the Silver Medal at the World Beer Championships in 2003.

My final rating of the Pearl Street Pale Ale is 4.5 bottles out of a possible 6.  I would definitely pick it up if I saw it on the shelf, but wouldn’t go out of my way looking for it.

2 thoughts on “Introducing… Tuesday Brewsday!

  1. Carolina Hanrahan says:

    One of my favorite topics, so I count on you for my
    education.

  2. Mark Kieffer says:

    My calendar app is set. Am interested in this as well. Always interested in branching out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,764 other followers

